RATIONALE for the Creation of the Regional Development Council

Executive Order 325 issued by then President Fidel V. Ramos in 1996, reorganized the Regional Development Councils on the basis of the following premises:

  1. Section 14, Article X of the 1987 Constitution provides that the President shall create Regional Development Councils (RDCs) and other similar bodies composed of local government officials, regional heads of departments and government offices and representatives from non-governmental organizations within the regions.
  2. It is the policy of the State that socio-economic development programs and activities of government be undertaken with the extensive and active participation and support from, and coordination of, various government agencies and corporations, as well as private sector institutions at the national, regional and local levels.
  3. RDCs provide for administrative decentralization to strengthen the autonomy of local government units in the regions. They need to be reorganized and strengthened to make them more effective institutions for accelerating socio-economic development and ensuring sustainable, participatory and equitable development.

Hence, the Regional Development Council shall be the primary institution in the region, which shall set the direction of socio-economic development in the region and through which regional development efforts shall be coordinated.



The Regional Development Council shall be composed of the following:

  1. All provincial governors and city mayors, mayors of municipalities designated as provincial capitals, and mayors of municipalities designated as regional center;
  2. All presidents of the Provincial League of Mayors;
  3. The Regional Directors of agencies represented in the National Economic and Development Authority Board (NEDA, DAR, DA, DBM, DENR, DOF, DFA, DOH, DILG, DOLE, DPWH, DOST, DTI, DOTC, BSP) and the Regional Directors of DEPED, DSWD,  DOT, CHED, TESDA, HUDCC, PMS and CICT. In cases where this is not applicable on account of organizational structure or position titles, the Secretary or Head of the concerned Departments and Agencies may instead designate a representative who occupies the highest position in their field unit.  Each Department or Agency shall be represented by only one Regional Director, or where applicable, by only one designated representative thereof;
  4. Representatives of the accredited private sector and non-government organizations based in the region, at least one of whom shall be a representative of the labor sector. Their total representation shall comprise one-fourth of the members of the fully constituted Council.
  5. The Council may designate special non-voting members (SNVMs) coming from both the public and private sectors, upon concurrence of the majority of its regular members.