Honorable Ronnel C. Rivera, City Mayor of General Santos City and the former Chairperson of RDC XII, administered the oath taking of the newly confirmed RDC XII-SeCom officials who were present. In picture (L-R): DOST XII OIC, Engr. Mahmud L. Kingking; PSR for Economic Sector, Dr. Rolando S. Doria; LTO XII Regional Director Macario D. Gonzaga, and; PSR for Sarangani Richlie Lyndon L. Magtulis. Inset is PSR for Tacurong City and Sultan Kudarat Ronan Eugene C. Garcia.

Koronadal City, South Cotabato – The Regional Development Council (RDC) XII, during its 68th Regular Meeting on 04 December 2019, confirmed the newly elected officials of the four (4) main Sectoral Committees (SeComs) under the umbrella of the Council.  RDC XII passed Resolution No. 115, series of 2019, entitled Confirming the Chairpersons and Co-chairpersons of the Four Sectoral Committees for the term 2019-2022. Honorable Ronnel C. Rivera, City Mayor of General Santos City and the former Chairperson of RDC XII, administered the oath taking of the newly confirmed RDC XII-SeCom officials. 

The elected Chairpersons and Co-chairpersons of the four Sectoral Committees under the RDC XII, who were selected, respectively, during the Committee reorganizational meetings in November 2019 are the following: a) Infrastructure and Utilities Development Committee (InfraCom) XII –  Alfredo P. Hebrona, Jr., Private Sector Representative (PSR) for Infrastructure Sector and Land Transportation Office (LTO) XII Director Macario D. Gonzaga; b) Economic Development Committee (EDC) XII – Dr. Rolando S. Doria, PSR for Economic Sector and Department of Science and Technology (DOST) XII Officer-in-Charge Mahmud L. Kingking; c) Macro-Economy, Development Administration and Finance Committee (MEDAFC)  XII – Ronan Eugene C. Garcia, PSR for Sultan Kudarat Province and Tacurong City and Bureau of Local Government Finance (BLGF) XII Regional Director Jeany T. Tedera; and d) Regional Social Development Committee (RSDC) XII – Richlie Lyndon L. Magtulis, PSR for Sarangani and Honorable Mayor Eliordo U. Ogena of LGU-Koronadal City.

RD Teresita Socorro C. Ramos of NEDA XII, Acting Chairperson of RDC XII presided over the meeting, pending the appointment of the Office of the President of the Chairperson and Co-Chairperson for RDC XII from among the nominees of the Council.   

In picture (L-R): Mayor Rivera administered the oath taking of the of the newly confirmed SNVM who were present. In picture (L-R): POPCOM RD Edwin Mateo Quijano; NCIP RD Jeanne Anne Zoilo; NHA Regional Administrator Zenaida M. Cabiles, and; Col. Celestino F. Desamito, Jr..

The Council also confirmed eight (8) special non-voting members (SNVMs) during the meeting for the term 2019-2022. They are the following:  Philippine Health Insurance Corporation (PHIC) XII, National Housing Authority (NHA) XII, National Commission on Indigenous Peoples (NCIP) XII, Commission on Population and Development (POPCOM) XII, National Nutrition Council (NNC) XII, National Commission on Muslim Filipinos (NCMF) XII, National Commission on Culture and Arts (NCCA) and Retired Col. Celestino F. Desamito, Jr.   Except for Col. Desamito who was endorsed to be a SNVM by both the RSDC XII and EDC XII, the rest of the confirmed SNVMs were endorsed by RSDC XII.  Hon. Mayor Rivera also administered the oath taking of the said SNVMs. 

The designation of SNVMs is provided for under Section 3 of Executive Order (EO) 325, series of 1996 which specified that the RDC, subject to the concurrence of majority of its regular members, may designate special non-voting members SNVMs) of the Council.

Other concerns tackled during the 68th RDC XII Regular Meeting include a Report on RDC XII assistance to earthquake victims in Cotabato Province, updated Fault Line Map and earthquake-related and volcanic hazards in Region XII, updates on African Swine Fever in Region XII, as well as the reports of the four SeComs on matters discussed in their respective 4th Quarter Committee meetings and also that of the Affiliate Committees of RDC XII that need RDC XII action.  The Council passed a total of thirty-five (35) resolutions and issued a number of instructions to address the various concerns raised during the meeting. (Eden F. Ridao, NEDA XII-DRD)