RDC XII Special Non-Voting Member (SNVM) Celestino F. Desamito was adjudged the Most Outstanding Environmental Planner (EnP) for 2016 by the Professional Regulation Commission (PRC). The award, Most Outstanding EnP for 2016, was handed to SNVM Desamito at the Manila Hotel on June 22, 2016.

SNVM Desamito was recognized by PRC for his lifelong commitment in upholding volunteerism and community development, insatiable quest for continuing professional education, and outstanding contributions to nation-building as urban and regional planner – the People’s Veterinarian, Altruistic Volunteer, Unstoppable Community Development Worker, Disaster Manager and Practicing Development Planner on the Ground.

Tinoy, as SNVM Desamito is fondly called, was cited by PRC for advancing the environmental planning profession from the grassroots and exemplifying the various roles of a Filipino planner as a strategist, advocate, communicator, teacher, community development worker, facilitator, entrepreneur and volunteer.

As published in the Philippine Institute of Environmental Planners News letter, Issue no. 5, 2016-2017,  Col. Desamito’s  accomplishments have been manifested by the various awards received, viz:  Ten Outstanding Young Men (TOYM) on Community Development, Most Outstanding National Volunteer, Most Outstanding UP Alumnus on Community Development, Most Outstanding Alumnus of the UP-SURP, and Most Outstanding Veterinarian in Rural Practice.  In addition, he is also a recipient of the House of Representatives’ Commendation on Rural Development.

Even in his senior years, Col. Desamito  continued to pursue higher education.  Recently he completed his master’s degree on Tropical Risk Management and is now pursuing his PhD in Extension Education.

Aside from being an SNVM of RDC XII, Col. Desamito is also a Private Sector Representative to the Regional Land Use Committee (RLUC) XII and Regional Social Development Committee (RSDC) XII, Special Member of the Economic Development Committee (EDC) XII, and Member of the Provincial Land Use Committee (PLUC) of the Province of South Cotabato.  (Ricardo L. Lamorena III, NEDA XII-PFPD/Liberty B. Arumpac, NEDA XII-DRD)